A magnificent antebellum home in Jackson, the Mississippi Governor's Mansion is the second oldest continuously occupied governor's residence in the country. Designated a National Historic Landmark in 1975 and declared a Mississippi Landmark in 1985, the Mississippi Governor's Mansion was first occupied in 1842 by Governor Tilghman Tucker and his family. During the Civil War, when Jackson was occupied by Union troops, Governor Humphreys and his family were forced to vacate the Mansion and yield it to the provisional military governor. The Union used the Governor's Mansion for entertaining and housing wounded soldiers.
Mississippi's Most Historic Antebellum Home
One of the finest surviving examples of Greek Revival style architecture in the country, and one of the most historic antebellum structures in the South, the Mississippi Governor's Mansion features a semi-circular portico supported by ornate Corinthian columns. Magnificent Greek Revival-style elements also adorn the Mansion's interior, including the State Dining Room, Gold Parlor and the Green Bedroom. The Mississippi Governor's Mansion is open for free guided tours from 9:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m., Tuesday through Friday. You can schedule group tours with the Mansion curator at 601-359-6421.
Historic Jackson downtown Hotel Near the Governor's Mansion
Built in 1861 as the Confederate House and destroyed by Gen. Sherman's Union forces in 1863, the Hilton Garden Inn Jackson downtown - formerly the King Edward Hotel - is an iconic landmark in Jackson's downtown cultural district. In 1908-09, the Edwards House served as the residence of Gov. Noel while the Governor's Mansion underwent renovation. Experience a Jackson landmark rooted in Southern hospitality with an urban vibe that is charming, cool and cultured. Relax in beautiful accommodations overlooking downtown, get energized in the fitness center and pool, host a powerhouse meeting, or enjoy new Southern cuisine at the King Edward Grill. Embrace the spirit of downtown's renaissance at a hotel that celebrates Jackson's heritage and cultural rebirth.
The Oaks House Museum - Jackson's Oldest Antebellum Home
Built circa 1853 on four acres, Oaks House is one of Jackson's oldest homes. A Mississippi Landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, this Greek Revival-style cottage is one of few antebellum structures that survived the burning of Jackson during the Civil War. The Museum interprets the Oaks House collection and grounds to depict the life of a middle-class family on a mid-19th-century urban farmstead. The story of four-term Jackson Mayor James Hervey Boyd and his family from 1853 to 1863 comes life at The Oaks. Boyd also served as Jackson alderman for more than six terms, including the year 1863 when Jackson was burned by Union forces. From 1853 until 1960, three generations of the Boyd family lived in The Oaks. In 1960, the National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the State of Mississippi acquired the property. Visit www.theoakshousemuseum.org.
Manship House Museum
Constructed in 1857 by Charles Henry Manship, the Civil War mayor of Jackson, the Manship House Museum interprets the life of a 19th-century Mississippi family. During his career as an ornamental painter and public officer, Manship built the Gothic Revival villa in contrast to the Greek Revival antebellum mansions for which Mississippi is famed. A fine example of Gothic-Revival residential architecture in Mississippi, Manship House was inspired by popular 19th-century country houses. Charles Manship's decorative painting and wood graining survive in the house, including the oak-paneled dining room and wallpaper patterns. Most of the furniture and objects are original, but some furnishings represent a middle-class southern home in 1888, when the house was restored. Standing in its native setting of trees and shrubs, the house is painted in its original olive and cream colors. Tour a parlor, sitting and dining rooms, three bedrooms, and a bathing room. The Manship House was occupied by the Manship family until its acquisition by Mississippi in 1975. Visit www.manshiphouse.com